Formula 1 | F1 Brazilian Grand Prix 2022 presentation and schedule

Formula 1 kicks off the final two race weeks of the 2022 season with the penultimate round at Interlagos. The Carlos Pace circuit actually hosts the 21st race of the year, the Brazilian Grand Prix.

While there are no longer any sporting issues with the awarding of titles, we can finally start a Grand Prix without Red Bull’s budget overruns being the main topic of discussion.

So we can hope for a weekend that is more focused on sport, but also more comfortable on the track. The Interlagos circuit can contribute to this animation, as well as the unstable weather in Brazil this season.

Plot details

Renowned for its unpredictable weather, spin, tight field and ability to put on eye-popping spectacle in title races, Interlagos is a legendary circuit on the F1 calendar.

Among the fifteen corners, the most famous are the first two, whose names pay homage to the great Ayrton Senna. Rivals drive it counter-clockwise, dipping it into Senna’s ‘S’ line, which leads straight to Reta Oposta, where DRS can be used.

The second sector is very rhythmic and technical before the track climbs the hill to pass through the noisy grandstand.

Turn 1 – A tricky hairpin turn at the end of a long straight. Its topology makes it difficult, especially where drivers do the biggest braking: only 110 km/h from 330.

Turn 2 – It is important to exit the pit from Turn 1 to maintain the rhythm in Turn 2, the very fast Turn 3 and finally the first DRS activation zone.

Turn 4 – The first zone of DRS activation allows for overtaking before a fairly quick turn.

Turn 5/6/7 – These fast corners, especially turns 6 and 7, are a real test for the left-hand tires. This is followed by the slower turn 8. From Turn 2 to the entrance to Turn 6, competitors accelerate for seventeen seconds and only touch the brakes in Turn 4.

MGU-K regenerates energy in braking zones, especially in this intermediate sector.

Turn 8 – The flat curbs in turns 8 and 10 leave plenty of leeway to find the best string on these slower turns.

Turn 12 – Crucial for a fast lap as exit speed is a must going into the hill and pit straight. The internal combustion engine will be pushed to its limits by the 40 meter descent between the exit of Turn 12 and the braking point of Turn 1.

Pit straight – The second DRS activation zone extends here by 500 meters to allow more overtaking opportunities.

Existing forces

Unbeaten since the Singapore Grand Prix and winner of eight of the last nine races, Max Verstappen will undoubtedly be the favorite for this Grand Prix. A winner in 2019, he was very comfortable there in 2018 and 2021 as well.

Last year, Lewis Hamilton was able to beat him thanks to a new engine and after a fierce battle between the two men that at times exceeded the limits of reason. For a Mercedes F1 driver, it will be almost impossible to think about victory.

On the other hand, we could potentially witness the confirmation of Mercedes returning to Ferrari’s level, or even a bit further. Behind, the fight between Alpine F1 and McLaren will continue for fourth place in the championship.

Calendar of the Brazilian Grand Prix

For the last time this season, F1 goes to America with evening hours for European viewers. However, they will be less delayed than the US and Mexican GPs.

– Friday, November 11

16:30-17:30: Free Practice 1

20:00-21:00: Qualifying

– Saturday, November 12

16:30-17:30: Free practice 2

20:30-21:00: Sprint

– Sunday, November 13

19:00-21:00: Race

Brazilian Grand Prix winners

year Period Winner Crew Engine
2021 Interlagos Lewis Hamilton mercedes mercedes
2019 Interlagos Max Verstappen Red bull Honda
2018 Interlagos Lewis Hamilton mercedes mercedes
2017 Interlagos Sebastian Vettel Ferrari Ferrari
2016 Interlagos Lewis Hamilton mercedes mercedes
2015 Interlagos Nico Rosberg mercedes mercedes
2014 Interlagos Nico Rosberg mercedes mercedes
2013 Interlagos Sebastian Vettel Red bull Renault
2012 Interlagos Jenson Button McLaren mercedes
2011 Interlagos Mark Webber Red bull Renault
2010 Interlagos Sebastian Vettel Red bull Renault
2009 Interlagos Mark Webber Red bull Renault
2008 Interlagos Felipe Massa Ferrari Ferrari
2007 Interlagos Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari Ferrari
2006 Interlagos Felipe Massa Ferrari Ferrari
2005 Interlagos Juan Pablo Montoya McLaren mercedes
2004 Interlagos Juan Pablo Montoya Williams BMW
2003 Interlagos Giancarlo Fisichella Jordan Ford
2002 Interlagos Michael Schumacher Ferrari Ferrari
2001 Interlagos David Coulthard McLaren mercedes
2000 Interlagos Michael Schumacher Ferrari Ferrari
1999 Interlagos Mika Hakkinen McLaren mercedes
1998 Interlagos Mika Hakkinen McLaren mercedes
1997 Interlagos Jacques Villeneuve Williams Renault
1996 Interlagos Damon Hill Williams Renault
1995 Interlagos Michael Schumacher benetton Renault
1994 Interlagos Michael Schumacher benetton Ford
1993 Interlagos Ayrton Senna McLaren Ford
1992 Interlagos Nigel Mansell Williams Renault
1991 Interlagos Ayrton Senna McLaren Honda
1990 Interlagos Alain Prost Ferrari Ferrari
1989 Jacarpagua Nigel Mansell Ferrari Ferrari
1988 Jacarpagua Alain Prost McLaren Honda
1987 Jacarpagua Alain Prost McLaren TAG
1986 Jacarpagua Nelson Pickett Williams Honda
1985 Jacarpagua Alain Prost McLaren TAG
1984 Jacarpagua Alain Prost McLaren TAG
1983 Jacarpagua Nelson Pickett Brabham BMW
1982 Jacarpagua Alain Prost Renault Renault
nineteen eighty one Jacarpagua Carlos Reutemann Williams Ford
1980 Interlagos Rene Arnoux Renault Renault
1979 Interlagos Jacques Laffite liger Ford
1978 Jacarpagua Carlos Reutemann Ferrari Ferrari
1977 Interlagos Carlos Reutemann Ferrari Ferrari
1976 Interlagos Niki Lauda Ferrari Ferrari
1975 Interlagos Jose Carlos Pace Brabham Ford
1974 Interlagos Emerson Fittipaldi McLaren Ford
1973 Interlagos Emerson Fittipaldi Lotus Ford

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *